Quick Rose Apple Jam

7 Oct

I found some of these lovely rose apples at the Brigade Road fruit stand that we’ve been frequenting. While they look more like lemons, they have the crispness of an apple and a slight taste of rose water. Though it gets originality points, tastewise, I immediately thought that it would be better suited as a fruit incorporated in a recipe rather than eaten raw on its own. In other words, the taste was simply “meh”.

With limited cooking supplies on hand I decided to make a quick jam or sort of stewed fruit to go with my morning toast. I chopped up the fruit and added water, a squeeze of lemon juice and a few packets of sugar that I had pilfered from the local coffee shop (ghetto or resourceful, you be the judge).  I let it all simmer down and once the fruit was softened it was ready. The whole process took less than 30 minutes and then it was all set to be spread on the whole wheat boule that I got from Cafe Noir at UB City.

The citrus gave the quick jam a nice acidity that perked up the flavors. Yay! Much improved from its raw state. Does anybody else have any ideas or recipes for rose apples?

 

5 Responses to “Quick Rose Apple Jam”

  1. solaris1972 October 7, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    It is first time for me to see a rose apple in India. How beautiful it is:)!Is a raw and young rose apple eatable like a blue papaya? How about cutting it into thin strips and making salad.

    • juliesindia October 8, 2010 at 2:18 am #

      Yes, aren’t they cute? I ate one raw and it wasn’t very good, but you’re right. I should try it in a slaw with dressing. Nice and crunchy. Blue papaya… I’ve never seen one but sounds so exotic.

  2. Kristina October 10, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    ONLY JULIE makes jam while she’s living in India for work.

    sososososo glad you are back to blogging!

    xx

  3. Suzan October 17, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    I’ve never seen or heard of the fruit. See how much you are teaching me! Love it!

    • juliesindia October 17, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

      I’m learning a lot over here too and I’m glad that I can share it!

Leave a Reply

