Caperberry Restaurant & Tapas Lounge

1 Oct

India keeps surprising me. I packed five pounds of oats, two boxes of Luna bars and a few bars of dark chocolate, thinking for some reason, they wouldn’t sell certain foods that I’ve grown all too well accustomed to. Well I’ve officially been proven wrong. I’ve found Silk soy milk, Nutella and Goldfish crackers (and they weren’t even Masala flavored) at the grocery store.

Eating out has also been quite the adventure, since Claire and I just go with recommendations. My co-worker, Gopi, suggested that we go to Caperberry for lunch since we wanted something healthy yet filling. I thought it was going to be an Indian interpretation of a tapas restaurant, but was pleasantly surprised to find that it was in fact a molecular gastronomy restaurant. What?!? I know!! I was shocked myself. I’ve been to Jose Andres’ The Bazaar and Ludo Lefebvre’s Ludobites, but that was in foodie Los Angeles. Oh Bangalore! Forgive me. I had no idea what you had in store for me or my stomach.

We knew we had to be barricaded in our apartment by 3:30 pm due to the potential rioting from the Ayodhya verdict, so we wanted to eat a large lunch. I started with the compressed watermelon salad with Mahon Jelly, olive tapenade and mixed greens.

Claire had the deconstructed Caprese salad, composed of tomato sorbet, spherified mozzarella and balsalmic gelee cubes with greens.

Next up was my lamb shank, cooked sous vide, with gremolata and saffron risotto. Very tasty and perfectly seasoned. I’m sure glad immersion circulators exist in India.

Claire had the Penne Puttanesca. No molecular gastronomy frills but still delicious. Maybe Chef Abhijit Saba will add some spherified olives to the dish like the ones in Jose Andres’ “New Way” dirty martini at The Bazaar.

I will be back to Caperberry to try out the tapas menu. And they also have paella and fideos on the menu, which I’m always a sucker for. What else does India have in store for me?

One Response to “Caperberry Restaurant & Tapas Lounge”

  1. Suzan October 6, 2010 at 7:02 am #

    mmm, that is some good yuppie eatin’ right there.

Leave a Reply

